its so easy….

April 20, 2009

i won’t try and get all deep here but a lot has been going on in my life over the last few weeks that has really made me sit back and think….actually ever since my pap passed on january 9th…thats when all of this started. i know it is so cliche to use the “you don’t know what you had until its gone” phrase but sometimes it is so true. this past week a close close friend/mentor/2nd dad to a lot of us passed. this came as a shock to me when my mom called me at work because i hadn’t seen him in a while. as soon as she told me the he passed it was like someone ran a movie or highlights in my head from the time i met jap until the time he passed. one thing that is amazing is there was not a bad memory that i could think of. he treated me and the rest of the kids/men that hung out at his house like his own…fed us…yelled at us..and put us to work..but it was all for a good purpose and now when i think back i really wonder how much influence all of these things he had us do have shaped us into the people we are today. when we were young we were doing this work to be able to skate,swim, or play roller hockey but thinking back did he have a bigger plan for all of us. i guess we will never know but if you asked me i would say yes he did and if i could say one last thing to jap it would be thanks for everything. i guess my main reason for writing this is the thoughts i had on the t-ride in this morning,,you never know when you are going to lose something or someone…so take a second and step back..look at what you have an appreciate all of it. it is so easy to whine and complain about the things you don’t have…make it a point to sit and back realize all the good things you do have.

j

R.I.P. JAP-you will be missed but definitely not forgotten

One Response to “its so easy….”

  1. Alicia Guerra "jap's daughter" Says:

    Kasey i couldn’t have summed it up any better myself. My father had the biggest heart of anyone i have ever known and he cared so much about all of you. I do hope that you take those memories and allow him to live on through those forever. WE all love you and so did my dad.


Leave a comment